book review

Book Review: Making Faces by Amy Harmon

27237358.jpg

Title: Making Faces

Author: Amy Harmon

Format: e-book

Rating: 4 stars/ 5 stars


Synopsis 1

Ambrose Young was beautiful. He was tall and muscular, with hair that touched his shoulders and eyes that burned right through you. The kind of beautiful that graced the covers of romance novels, and Fern Taylor would know. She’d been reading them since she was thirteen. But maybe because he was so beautiful he was never someone Fern thought she could have…until he wasn’t beautiful anymore.

Making Faces is the story of a small town where five young men go off to war, and only one comes back. It is the story of loss. Collective loss, individual loss, loss of beauty, loss of life, loss of identity. It is the tale of one girl’s love for a broken boy, and a wounded warrior’s love for an unremarkable girl. This is a story of friendship that overcomes heartache, heroism that defies the common definitions, and a modern tale of Beauty and the Beast where we discover that there is little beauty and a little beast in all of us.


Review

Making Faces is the Book of the Month of a book club I joined. They were all hyped about how this book goes so I begin to get my attention into it. It was a good read indeed.

I didn’t even expect myself to finish it fast. My heart ached for this book but it didn’t make me cry. All those letters sent was full of hearts all those choices made between Fern and Ambrose has a really good point. Every loss mentioned left a scar but the last loss of life was it, the one that really made my heart ached. There are parts that made me smile and gave me motivation to go on and I did. Reading this book made me appreciate more all those people who stayed by my side up until now.

Out of all the characters, Bailey became my favorite character for everything he’s been and specially on how he look at life.

I actually didn’t see much character development and some didn’t give me some justice about how they feel in some parts but that is the only flaw I’ve seen. The way they overcame every obstacle and the way they’ve been strong to face their weaknesses gave its answer to the flaws.  This story taught me that weakness can never be a hindrance for you to be a hero just like what Bailey showed.

I loved this story despite of everything, it made it a story worth reading.


 

 

 

Love,

Name

