book review

Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

THUG.jpg

Title: The Hate U Give

Author: Angie Thomas

Format: Paperback

Rating: 5 stars/ 5 stars


Synopsis 1

Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: the poor neighbourhood where she was born and raised and her posh high school in the suburbs. The uneasy balance between them is shattered when Starr is the only witness to the fatal shooting of her unarmed best friend, Khalil, by a police officer. Now what Starr says could destroy her community. It could also get her killed.


Review

Reading this book gives me high expectations because of all the reviews and ratings I saw. It didn’t fail me though. This book met my expectations, it is well written and the emotions are pouring.

My heart aches for all the black people who experienced bad things they don’t even deserve. This book gives me a lot of emotions until I finished it. Flipping through pages made me crave for more. I must say that this book is one of those eye opener about how society deals with different races, and those who will make us use our voices to be heard. I find this book an inspiration to finally be brave.

The plot was beautifully, it feels like everything is in its place.

The character development is really there, with every character developing each chapter makes it more beautiful and once finished, the satisfaction you feel was way over the top because every issues shown are resolved.

I want to thank Angie Thomas for writing such a wonderful book for the world to see. I definitely recommend this book!


 

 

 

Love,

Name

7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas

Leave a Reply

